Photographer Takes Stunning Surreal Photos With An Old $50 Film Camera

Oleg Oprisco is a brilliantly talented photographer from Lviv, Ukraine, who creates stunning surreal images of elegant women in fairy-tale or dream-like settings. There’s one significant difference, however, that sets him apart from other artists who create similar work – Oprisco shoots using old-school film photography.

 

surreal-photography-oleg-oprisco-13

“Each of my photos is a scene from real life. That is the perfect source of inspiration for me as there is so much beauty to it,” Oprisco told Bored Panda.

surreal-photography-oleg-oprisco-11

“Of course there are my own changes that I add to the reality, such as characters, props, location, and light… I am constantly involved in a search for inspiration and ideas.”

surreal-photography-oleg-oprisco-3

“I’ve found it ideal to do everything myself. I come up with a concept, create the clothing, choose the location and direct the hair and makeup.” 

surreal-photography-oleg-oprisco-19

surreal-photography-oleg-oprisco-17

“I often hold workshops and it’s very funny sitting in front of many photographers with $2000 – $3000 cameras and lenses, and on my table is an old Kiev 6C, which is worth about $50.”

surreal-photography-oleg-oprisco-1

surreal-photography-oleg-oprisco-21

“[Post production] takes several hours, but no amount of [photoshopping] can make a bad photo into a good photo. That’s a good rule to know. Hence, in my photos there is colour correction and retouching of dust only.”

surreal-photography-oleg-oprisco-9

“I use a Kiev 6C and Kiev 88 cameras with 90mm/2.8, 180/2.8, and 300/4.0 lenses. My favorite lens of all time is 300/4.0 by Meyer Optik Orestegor.  I use medium format film.”

surreal-photography-oleg-oprisco-22

surreal-photography-oleg-oprisco-5

Oleg became interested in photography at the age of 16 – he started taking photos of friends and acquaintances.“At age 18, I moved to Kiev, where I became an assistant to a well-known advertising photographer. We worked together for four years, but that work did not bring me pleasure. There was no creativity, only commerce. When I was 23, I started from scratch, taking my own photos.” 

surreal-photography-oleg-oprisco-15

surreal-photography-oleg-oprisco-8

surreal-photography-oleg-oprisco-20

surreal-photography-oleg-oprisco-16

surreal-photography-oleg-oprisco-14

surreal-photography-oleg-oprisco-2

Oleg has some advice for beginner photographers: “Shoot, shoot, and shoot some more. What else to say? Drop your job and shoot … if you feel that’s what you want. Freedom, happiness, money… all will come after you let go and just shoot.

surreal-photography-oleg-oprisco-7

We’d like to thank Oleg Oprisco for giving us an exclusive interview and for sharing his amazing work with us!

Source: http://www.boredpanda.com/surreal-film-photography-oleg-oprisco/

Leave a Reply

